Angela Kraft Cross, AAGO

Angela Kraft Cross Compositions

Organ Inventions (2024)

Music for Service, Teaching, and Concert

Original compositions for worship, recitals, or teaching for organists of all levels.

Organ Inventions cover art

For composer Angela Kraft Cross, 2021 was a breakout year. The day after the inauguration of President Joe Biden, on January 21, her composition "Healing" from Journey to Wholeness was performed by Thomas Sheehan at Washington National Cathedral as a postlude to the National Prayer Service. On June 30, the American Guild of Organists featured Kraft Cross's "Healing" and its being chosen for the National Prayer Service in a mini-documentary at the OrganFest virtual convention. Then, in early July, Jonathan Ryan of St. Michael and All Angels Episcopal Church (Dallas, Texas), having seen the mini-documentary, commissioned Dr. Kraft Cross for a festive prelude to honor his church's seventy-fifth anniversary. Her prelude Archangel Fantasie was premiered on September 26 by Philip Joseph Fillion. These pieces are available in her Courage in a Time of Struggle" score compilation.

Courage in a Time of Struggle (2023)

Organ Music for Service or Recital

Elegy Fanfare is a 9/11 memorial to the lives lost in 9/11 Terrorist attack. The title piece, Courage in a Time of Trouble, which is the main middle movement of a tryptich, was written for the 10th anniversary of the terrorist attacks on the United States of 9/11, but the overall work is a universal encouragement in all times of trouble.

  • A Great Grief (2012)
  • Courage in a Time of Struggle (2011)
  • Centering Prayer (2012)
  • Archangel Fantasie (2021)
  • Fantasie on "Adeste fideles"
  • Elegy Fanfare (2002)
  • Healing Waters

Courage In A Time of Trouble cover art

House of Love (2022)

Organ Music for Service or Recital

Organ works inspired by wide variety of artists, including the Pieta of Michelangelo, settings of Beethoven's Ode to Joy, and an original prelude and fugue inspired by the Henri Nouwen. Some of these works have been recorded and are available on Angela's Recordings page.

  1. La Pietà
  2. Fantasie on Ubi Caritas
  3. Homage to Henri Nouwen (from the House of Fear to the House of Love)
  4. House of Fear (Prelude)
  5. House of Love (Fugue)
  6. Variations on Ode to Joy
  7. Petite Messe d'Orgue

  8. Kyrie eleison
  9. Gloria
  10. Sanctus
  11. Agnus Dei

House of Love cover art

In 2021, Dr. Kraft Cross also published her third book of organ solo compositions, Messianic Longings.

Messianic Longings - Organ Music for Advent and Christmas

Arrangements based on Stille Nacht, Personent Hodie, Veni Emmanuel, The Somerset Carol

  • Fantasie on “Personent Hodie” (2015)
  • Messianic Longings (2017)
  • Mary Magnificat (2010, rev. 2020)
  • Meditation on “Silent Night” (2017)
  • Fantasy on an Old English Carol (2015)

Messianic Longings cover art

Tree of Life

Organ Music for Service or Recital

5 original compositions

  • Grand Lothbury Voluntary
  • Tree of Life (Passacaglia)
  • Les Bergers (Pastorale)
  • All Hallows Voluntary
  • Kyrie Eleison

Tree of Life cover art

Journey To Wholeness

Organ Music for Service or Recital

5 original compositions

  1. A Joyous Celebration
  2. Journey to Wholeness
    (To Make Man Whole)
  3. St. Bede´s Voluntary
  4. Fantasie on Arirang
  5. St. Joseph Voluntary

Journey To Wholeness cover art

Exsultate Deo

SATB/a cappella

Vibrant choral setting of Psalm 81

Exsultate Deo cover art

What Does the Lord Require of You?

SATB Anthem with Organ

Scripture Reference Micah 6:8-10

What Does the Lord Require of You? cover art

Angela's Recordings

Don't forget to also visit Angela's Recordings page where video and audio recordings of many of her pieces are available on her YouTube channel or for sale as CDs, as well as links to several of her appearancess on the Pipe Dreams Radio show.